History Podcasts & Interviews

Back when I was working at a museum, and later completing my master’s degree in history, I was occasionally asked to do some media interviews on historical topics. In addition to validating my choice of study and proving that at least one other person found history interesting, these were fun to do and the chance to share these stories did influence how I thought about the past’s influence on the present.

I came across one of these again recently so I thought I’d share a few of them here.

The first was an interview I did for Calgary’s CJSW “Today in Canadian History” series about the 1948 Newfoundland Referendum.

CJSW Today in Canadian History – June 3, 2011 – The Newfoundland Referendum of 1948

Anti-Confederate Propaganda, from the Heritage NL Website: http://www.heritage.nf.ca/law/referendums.html

The next two I did with Jeff Gilhooly of the CBC’s St. John’s Morning Show. One was about early attempts to create a tourism industry in Newfoundland in the early 1900s, while the other looked at a long-forgotten plan to cut shipping canals through the island to reduce trans-Atlantic crossing times and dangers.

St. John’s Morning Show – September 22, 2008 – The Norway of the New World

St. John’s Morning Show – February 10, 2009 – The Trans-Newfoundland Canal

Enjoy! As always, comments and questions are welcome. Twitter is the best way to reach me: @KeithCollier

 

Leave a Reply

